Why ReDesigning Sarah?

After spending twelve years in the financial services field I’d lost my excitement and passion for what I was doing every day. When my third child was born I realized it was time to make a change and step back from the grind and the stress of corporate life. The tether of the BlackBerry needed to be cut. The original plan was to stay at home with the kids until they were all in school full-time. That lasted about six months before I was itching to get back to work.

So, I enrolled in the Interior Decorating program at Seneca and at the same time started some ad hoc project work.

Framing our bedroom window

Why interior decorating? It’s something I’ve always been passionate about. Adding a two-storey addition to the back of our house turned me into an obsessed renovator. I loved every aspect from the design and planning phase to the demolition and construction to adding the finishing details. I smile as I walk through the door to our master bath knowing that the shower layout was designed on the 2×4 that framed the door. I can still picture the pencil drawings of myself and our contractor.

The finished room

I was originally working with small business owners who needed someone to help them renovate their space but didn’t have anyone in-house to dedicate to the job. Now I’ve taken on some residential decorating work and love it all! I love taking people’s ideas and needs for a space and pulling it all together. I love helping draw out homeowners sense of style and taste – it’s so personal and unique.

With each project I learn more about myself and the design business. Some things have come naturally to me like pulling together various elements for a room into one cohesive look. Other areas, like sales and how to help clients make a decision, have been a steeper learning curve.

There are a ton of resources out there and my aim is to share some of what I’ve learned along with what inspires and excites me. There may also be the occasional rant thrown in for good measure!

Thanks for reading … subscribe and stick around for more about “ReDesigning Sarah”.

About Sarah

Sarah is constantly ReDesigning things. From ReDesigning spaces for others or ReDesigning herself from corporate operations whiz into interior decorator and blogger – it’s all about ReDesign.

Posted on June 1, 2011, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Welcome to the blogosphere! I look forward to reading more of your posts and seeing all of your great projects.

  2. Great job Sarah…
    Both blogging and renos are a lot of work kudos on both!!

  3. Thanks Ladies – I am super excited (and addicted, might I add!!)

  1. Pingback: Networking Used to Make Me Nervous « ReDesigning Sarah

  2. Pingback: Noboby said it would be easy « ReDesigning Sarah

Leave a Reply

