Pops of Colour Make Me Happy

I’ve always been a girl who subscribes to the philosophy of invest in good basics then add a splash of a little something something to make it interesting and unique. Brightly coloured scarves and bold handbags or a beautiful bouquet of flowers or a colourful throw cushion can change my mood from bleh to bling!

Handbags and scarves aside … adding pops of colour to an otherwise neutral space can add an element of wow and change it up immediately.

In the space below I’m in love with the bright yellow curtains combined with pops of pink (dare I say Honeysuckle) throw cushions all grounded by the black in the chair, bench and coffee table.

Or what about the pops of blue, rust and green in this Tribeca loft? So lively.

I’m in love with the orange and turquoise combination in this living room.

If this was my summer house in Cape Cod I don’t think I’d ever leave …

I get so excited when I read a new post from Lauren Liess of Pure Style Home. Check out her blog – it is chock full of inspiration and pops of colour in just the right places. She recently participated in the Washington, DC Design House redoing “The Hideaway” and I especially loved how she used green as a lively element in an otherwise serene space. See for yourself …

I find myself gravitating towards apple greens, yellows and reds to add a pop of wow to the neutral backdrop of my own home.

How do you add a pop of colour to your space?

Images via here, here, here, here and here.

About Sarah

Sarah is constantly ReDesigning things. From ReDesigning spaces for others or ReDesigning herself from corporate operations whiz into interior decorator and blogger – it’s all about ReDesign.

Posted on June 3, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Love, love, love the pops of color. So crisp and clean-

Leave a Reply

