A Sense of Community

I went looking for inspiration. I went looking to learn.

What I found most of all was an amazing sense of community. I found myself in a room full of people who loved the same things I did and loved sharing it with others.

On Saturday night I attended the Canadian Design Bloggers MeetUp at the fabulous Brassaii. The group was full of the whose who of the Canadian Design blogging community. Sponsored by Ikea Canada, Delta Faucets and CIL – the room was literally buzzing with chatter, laughter and more than a few squeals.

Tommy Smythe, the hilarious and insanely talented HGTV star was the keynote speaker for the evening. Tommy & Sarah (that’s Sarah Richardson – to be clear!) are known for creating amazing spaces in shows such as Sarah’s House & Sarah 101 to name a few. When I had my photo taken with Tommy I nearly melted (insert stalker fan visual here) when he said that I could be his “Sarah” for the night. Ahhh!

Sarah (as in me - not the other Sarah) & Tommy!

Tommy opened his presentation by observing that we shouldn’t be called just “bloggers” but rather “bitches who blog” – brought the house down! I am still laughing at that line!

He shared photos of his recent trip to Scandanavia with us. I was wowed not only by what I saw on the screen but also his commentary and the inspiration he found. He showed us one picture of a building that he wanted to use as inspiration for a headboard – the windows in another building suggested a design for a rug. Did you know that there are hardwood floors in the Copenhagen airport?!

It gave me pause to look at buildings for more than their detailed finishes and focus on the overall image a building or facade portrays and how it looks in it’s environment.

Using the “Lack” sidetable from Ikea as an example, Tommy pointed out that good design at whatever price point will always be relevant. The “Lack” table can be found as much in student dorms as in million dollar homes.

After Tommy’s presentation it was mix and mingle time. I was able to meet face to face with writers of blogs that I’ve been reading and admiring such as Rambling Renovators, Life Begins at Thirty, Decor Mentor, Little House Blog, First Time Fancy, Bijou and Boheme and Decor Happy.

I also met new faces behind blogs such as Recreated, Buy Borrow & Style, Yummy Mummy Club, Mod Missy and Not A House But a Home to name a few.

Check out these blogs – you will drool with inspiration!

The evening was organized by Vie of Verdigris Vie and Daniela of Dress, Design & Decor and what a fabulous job they did. I was so grateful to be among such an inspirational group.

Then … the icing on the cake. I won the draw for an iPad2. I was so stunned it took me a minute to react and I basically walked around the rest of the evening with a dorky grin on my face.

Today I am one inspired and motivated lady. Can hardly wait for the next meetup.

Have you ever been to an event and walked away with a newfound sense of community?

Images via moi, here, moi & here

About Sarah

Sarah is constantly ReDesigning things. From ReDesigning spaces for others or ReDesigning herself from corporate operations whiz into interior decorator and blogger – it’s all about ReDesign.

Posted on June 27, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Fab post Sarah! Great meeting you and congrats on the ipad!! Lucky ducky!! It was your night πŸ™‚ well worth the trip down town huh country girl πŸ™‚

  2. Great recap Sarah! How awesome that you got to be Tommy’s “Sarah” for the night AND you won the Ipad?! So jealous – on both counts, lol! Hope to see you again soon. I’m off now to poke around your blog πŸ™‚

  3. Wooohooo! Congrats on the iPad2! And quite an honour being Tommy’s Sarah for the night πŸ™‚ I met him at IDS in January, and he had my friends and me laughing hysterically! He’s a good guy πŸ™‚

    I was at the meetup last November, and had such a great time meeting both bloggers I already knew virtually as well as new bloggers. It’s fantastic to be able to get together with a big group of like-minded people to chat and share experiences and ideas πŸ™‚

  4. Adam McWhirter

    Hey Sara-with-an-H…Brad told me about the blog and I actually managed to find it. Congrats on the site(s) and the iPad…I’m enjoying the pics from some of your old posts. BTW, I can’t believe someone refered to you and the “country girl”…time for that 905 hat. Chat soon.

  1. Pingback: The State of the Union « ReDesigning Sarah

  2. Pingback: Street View: Windows « ReDesigning Sarah

  3. Pingback: A Week of Design & Blogging Inspiration « ReDesigning Sarah

  4. Pingback: IDS12 & Canadian Design Bloggers – Design & Blogging Inspiration « ReDesigning Sarah

Leave a Reply

