Elements of Design … in an Excavator?

I had a bunch of things I wanted to write about but since the kids started summer holidays this week I haven’t been as focused as usual.

Our street is currently under major construction. New pipes, sewers, sidewalks and road. It’s loud, dirty and the kids are completely obsessed with it.

My Street

Once I acclimatized to the deafening noise while breaking up a few fights over Pokemon cards, I started randomly thinking about elements of design in road construction.

There’s the texture of the concrete and the dirt. There’s repetition in the tracks on the excavator. But the element of design that stood out to me the most was shapes in the heavy construction machines.

Round (massive) wheels

Triangular shaped tracks & scoop

Oval shaped tracks

Rectangular-ish windows

It’s quite possible that I am losing my mind by writing a post about construction machines but I am quite fascinated by the process, the power of the machines and how they dominate the space they are working in.

Everything happens in a certain order, all the trades on the job know their role and it is all designed to ensure that water, gas, sewage are all working as they should … things I certainly take for granted on a daily basis.

It’s no different than the process of renovating a room or designing a house. The process is messy but the end result can be quite fantastic.

Then there is a certain little someone in my life who thinks the “chines” are the best thing in the world.

He is just over half the height of the wheel!

I’m sure the novelty of road construction right in front of my house will wear off.

Anyone else fascinated by the design elements of heavy construction machines?

 

all images via moi

About Sarah

Sarah is constantly ReDesigning things. From ReDesigning spaces for others or ReDesigning herself from corporate operations whiz into interior decorator and blogger – it’s all about ReDesign.

Posted on June 30, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Before today, I had never considered the design elements of excavating “chines”. When I have them on site I’m consumed with, “Why aren’t they done yet?” Thanks for the alterior perspective.

    Ian

  2. Sarah – I like your perception on things! As I say “design is everywhere” you just have to take time and see it. PS. Your boys are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

