Bunk Beds

My older two boys share a room and sleep in bunk beds. Since we moved them to bunk beds it’s been great as it has opened up a ton of space in their room for quiet time away from the chaos of the rest of the house.

I love bunk beds. Not only are they practical as a space saving measure but there is something really cosy about them, too. Check out these bunk beds I came across …

I love the high ceilings, panelling and shelving on the lower bunks

The colours, striped bedding and throw pillows unifies a tiny space

The airiness of the room and simplicity of the bedding creates a cottage vibe

I love the industrial feel of these floating bunk beds

(although I’m pretty sure my busy boys would figure out how to swing from the ceiling in them!)

Simple, yet elegant complete with small details like a porthole window on the lower bunks and nautical lighting for each bed

More quad bunk beds … a relatively monochromatic colour scheme to minimize congestion

Framing the beds as a built-in unit creates a private space for each bed

I just love the nooks these beds are built into – the textured paneling and stripes are divine

Can you feel the summer breeze in this space? Love the white and love the texture

Have you ever slept in bunk beds? What type of bunk beds do you like?

all images via here

About Sarah

Sarah is constantly ReDesigning things. From ReDesigning spaces for others or ReDesigning herself from corporate operations whiz into interior decorator and blogger – it’s all about ReDesign.

Posted on August 29, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I am a huge lover of all things bunk beds.. Not only are they so savvy and functional they can be a designers dream in terms of space utilization and purpose. Great picks thanks for sharing!

  2. I LOVED sleeping in a bunk bed as a child. The photos you shared are stunning. I’d have to say the floating one would make me a little nervous to sleep in ( even though a beautiful design), My preference on bunk beds would be a built-in style…but needless to say you have the money to “commit”. As the kids grow you would need to be prepared for a reno! Thanks for posting.

  3. These are SO much fun! and so inspirational! Thanks for sharing. I wish I had the money to do something spectacular like this in my son’s room. But I know there are a lot of frugal things I can do too. I posted some similar ideas on one of my recent posts: http://nostalgiainthemaking.com/2011/08/26/designing-daydreams/

  4. Very inspirational!

  5. Very inspirational! I have the wooden Ikea bunkbeds for my boys and was thinking about making curtains to enclose them. Last summer, large sheets were thrown over the bunks as the secret hideout. I’d love to do something permanent, like galvanized rods suspended from the ceiling to house the rings for the upper curtains, and rods under the lower bunk for curtains. I like the idea of lights too to make a reading nook, but when they’re older! It might be a fire hazard. 🙂

  6. Wow! Great beds! When you get a chance, check out our kids bunk beds. If you are handy, check out our childrens bunk bed plans and build your own.

  1. Pingback: Designer Feature: Christina Murphy « ReDesigning Sarah

Leave a Reply

