The Tuesday after Labour Day …

I think it should be renamed the best day in the world. Better than Christmas? Yup. Better than my birthday? Yup. Birth of kids? Yup!

Why do you think I am jumping up and down on a Tuesday morning?

Because it is the day that the kids go back to school and today ROUTINE! returns to our home.

Don’t get me wrong. I love summer holidays. We had an amazing holiday in Vermont, tonnes of fun at the cottage, excursions around town and lots of visiting with friends and family.

But I am ready for routine to return to my life. The kids are ready too.

I learned a lot this summer about myself and how much I crave a predictable routine for our family. It was tougher to create than I thought. Much of this was driven by my work schedule being busier than I had anticipated. This created an ongoing scramble to find childcare and figure out when I was going to get stuff done. At the start of the summer I had it all figured out but … alas.

With every project I like to do a lessons learned to reflect on where I’ve been, what worked and what I can improve in the future. Here are the three key lessons I have learned from this summer:

Get up early to work when the house is still quiet

I shifted some of my workday to start at 5:30am and was very productive in the early hours of the day and even enjoyed stunning sunrises from my third floor home office. Getting up early meant that I got a lot of what I needed to do done and could focus on the day without stressing about finding more time.

Slow down multi-tasking

This is admittedly still a work in progress but what I have found is that when I stop trying to do 5,000 things at once I actually get more accomplished by making a focused effort on one thing at a time. The kids benefit too as I am not constantly distracted when we are together.

Don’t sweat the small stuff

If it is truly critical to do it will get done. It’s seeing through the noise of the to-do list that makes this hard to remember.

As I celebrate back to school and the return of routine one of the things on my to-do list this week is to blast through my house and return it to pre-summer levels of organization! Let’s see how this goes …

Anyone else pumped for the first Tuesday after Labour Day?

images via here

About Sarah

Sarah is constantly ReDesigning things. From ReDesigning spaces for others or ReDesigning herself from corporate operations whiz into interior decorator and blogger – it’s all about ReDesign.

Posted on September 6, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hello Sarah
    I was introduced to you(r blog) when you left a comment on Modmissy; glad to have met.
    From the perspective now of having three sons in their thirties – and two grand boys! – I think your three ‘key lessons’ are most worthwhile. “Will this matter ten years from now?” was (still is!) a helpful guideline for me. Your “seeing through the noise …” (of the to-do list) is graphic and powerful.

    • Hi Karen,
      Thanks so much for your kind words – much appreciated from someone who has the perspective of her three boys being grown up! My aunt has always said that they (your kids) are only borrowed for a short time … it’s a balancing act to remember those words while working to balance my own pursuits as well. I’ve come back to my “to-do” list prioritization a number of times recently and it has been helpful. Look forward to hearing form you again!
      Sarah

  2. I knew we had a wonderful summer when my teenage son said “Mom, I could spend 3 more months with you”! I will miss him now that school is back but memories are powerful. I embrace the to-do list as it allows me to not worry about what I was supposed to worry about.

Leave a Reply

