Barn Doors … Fab or Fad? or both?

I was at a Hoedown recently (yes, you read that correctly) and got to thinking about bales of hay, horses, country music and … barns.

Barns? Really, Sarah, you are thinking … what does that have to do with design?

Well … I’ve seen a ton of barn doors in design mags and blogs recently.

 

One of the first barn doors I really liked was the one that Dana built in her house and chronicled on her blog House Tweaking.

A bold statement in a space for sure – barn doors add texture, visual interest and can have bright pops of colour, too.

Barn doors can be space savers. Think of them as modern-day pocket doors – except on the outside of the wall and in some cases using wood re-purposed from a real barn.

They certainly are everywhere! Makes me wonder how long the look will stick around.

That being said, I like the visual design element mixed with the practical.

 

The hardware adds an industrial feel and the panelling style of the doors can make a barn door look quite contemporary.

 

Or, a more traditional door …

 

 

 

 

Are barn doors a fad or are they fab(ulous) and will stick around for a while?

I’m on the Fab team … what about you?

images via here and here

About Sarah

Sarah is constantly ReDesigning things. From ReDesigning spaces for others or ReDesigning herself from corporate operations whiz into interior decorator and blogger – it’s all about ReDesign.

Posted on September 13, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I say fab! Most definitely! These are great pictures. And there is something to the sliding door that does not assault the interior of either room when open. LOVE it.

  2. I also say fab. It’s very French Country to me. I think it’s great!

  3. lovveeeeeee barn doors! awesome blog!

  4. I would say FAB too, but for some reason I just don’t think I could pull it off.

  5. great idea – I personaly do not like evey executions but i love the concept of reusing and mixing modern/old style. special price for the bath / laundry / dinning doors
    XXX
    Geoffroy

  6. I like that rug in the last photo. Just thought I’d check out some of the comments as well, very cool.

  1. Pingback: Dutch Doors « ReDesigning Sarah

Leave a Reply

