Nobody said it would be easy

When I made the decision to leave the corporate world and made the foray into owning my own business I knew it wouldn’t be easy and that it probably wouldn’t always be fun.

The past couple of weeks have been a bit of a roller coaster ride and I came across this quote yesterday on Thoughtful Content that made me smile:

It reminded me of my high school English teacher, Mrs. Watson, who used to tell us to “buck up” if we weren’t happy with something … in other words – get over it and move on!

I must have been subconsciously looking for inspirational quotes yesterday because after I was reminded to “Keep My Chin Up” I came across this quote from Ira Glass (a US radio personality) that was posted on the Decorista’s blog:

It reminded me to be patient and keep plugging away even when it gets super-hard. Doing something you are passionate about and working for yourself isn’t always easy but it is so worth it in the end.

How’s that for Friday musings?

It’s a school holiday today for my kids so we are going bowling … maybe I will mentally put faces on some of the bowling pins before I throw the ball 🙂

images via here and here

About Sarah

Sarah is constantly ReDesigning things. From ReDesigning spaces for others or ReDesigning herself from corporate operations whiz into interior decorator and blogger – it’s all about ReDesign.

Posted on September 23, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Sheri Ballantyne

    Sarah, this comes at a time when I need these words of encouragement too. Thanks so much for sharing. And “chin up” — you’re awesome and I know you can do whatever you set your mind to.

  2. I’m glad this made you smile, Sarah… and your Ira Glass words have resonated with me. I wish i would have seen this about 2 years ago when I started blogging and my own business. I’m just now starting to get my groove down… it’s taken me this long to to figure out what it is I really want to do and what my “voice” is. Nothing else has felt quite right, which is frustrating… but these words make it better. Thanks for passing this along. I’m going to use it in my Monday’s ” words to live by” post. Take care.

  3. Love it Sarah!

    Needed a lil chin up pep talk myself today 🙂

  4. That was a much-needed share. Although not in the same predicament as yours, I do go through the emotions aspect every now and then. Chin up to us! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Words to live by: It’s gonna take awhile… @ ThoughtfulContent

Leave a Reply

