Wall Wow

I love the look of natural stone. I love the variation in shape and colour. I love it on walls. We have slate in a few places in our house. Here’s a peek at our backsplash:

I am working on a project right now and we are putting a stone feature wall in the reception area. It is going to be stunning. A gorgeous slate grey – it has the right amount of texture to add warmth yet formal enough for a business reception area.

I will share some pictures when it is done but in the meantime thought I’d take a look at what other feature walls are out there. Wood walls, stone walls … all are stunning.

The mix of colours in the stone wall and textured surface breaks up the smooth counters and floors.

I love the exposed brick in this bedroom … makes me want to crawl into bed with a book.

The mix of stone, wood and steel beams in this reception area adds drama and an earthy element.

How cool is this grouping of logs?

Although it might be art … the use of the circular shape is repeated in the tables and contrasted with the sharp lines in the seating.

Not sure I am a huge fan of the proportions of the stone wall to the fireplace but it does create a warm setting for relaxing.

An example of how adding a stone wall can break up the space and add some zoom to bleh.


Maybe I will figure out how to incorporate these walls into another space. Any takers?

all images via here

About Sarah

Sarah is constantly ReDesigning things. From ReDesigning spaces for others or ReDesigning herself from corporate operations whiz into interior decorator and blogger – it’s all about ReDesign.

Posted on November 3, 2011, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love homes/spaces with a large stone feature. My brother just did a large wall of stone his fire place (similar to the one you didn’t like…but his is perfectly proportioned!), and it looks fantastic. I find in most cases they look to modern for my home… PLUS seems to work better with 9 foot ceilings or higher…do you agree? I have a photo I have been saving in my files of a stone wall behind the master bed…..do you think this could work with 8 foot ceilings.| Thanks

Leave a Reply

