IDS12 & Canadian Design Bloggers – Design & Blogging Inspiration

Seriously, how much can a girl handle in one weekend. As I mentioned earlier this week, I attended Blog Podium and soaked it all up like a sponge. The balance of the weekend was spent attending the Interior Design Show and my second Canadian Design Bloggers Meet Up.

A few of the highlights from IDS12 that stood out to me:

I loved this beauty from Weavers Art. The colour and the movement of all the shapes really stood out to me. I might have even squealed when I first saw it. This particular piece was designed by Michael Pourvakil, the founder of Weavers Art.

Living Lighting on King Street had two standout light fixtures. The sparkle from these “bubble” lights danced before my eyes. Wouldn’t this look amazing in a dining room with high ceilings or in an entry hall?

This light fixture, also from Living Lighting, was also a standout.I’m not sure I would have been able to count that high but any guesses on how many individual strands there are?

I spent some time in the Snob booth. I’d never heard of this store before but love what they are doing. Each piece is from a different artisan in Southern Africa and they all tell a story. The wires in this light fixture were measured by the waist of the craftsman who made it. He wrapped the wire around his waist to size it.

I loved this grouping of people and the play of colour between the blue and gold created a real sense of movement with the eye. In the background you can see the bottom of a mirror that is bordered with rows of mussel shells. I look forward to checking more out in their store.

Then on Saturday night I attended my second Canadian Design Bloggers Meet Up. I remember being sooooo nervous back in June when I attended and this time was totally different. I KNEW people! Was so great to walk in and feel a true sense of belonging.

Cameron MacNeil and Lisa Murphy of House and Home shared insights about colour trends and the House & Home app for ipad & iphone. Cassandra LaValle of the popular blog Coco + Kelley shared her blogging journey from working in PR and event planning to now blogging full-time. She had fantastic tips on how to keep things fresh and networking with other bloggers. The final surprise guest for the evening was Brian Gluckstein – one of Canada’s foremost interior designers. He loves blogs and in particular the sharing of ideas with like minded people – said it reminds him of being back in school where ideas are flowing all the time.

Christine of Bijou and Boheme, Gillian of Gillian Gillies Interiors, moi, Susan of Saf Affect and Meredith Heron (photo courtesy of Allessia Lamonaca)

I’m still out of breath just thinking about the weekend. What does one do next weekend for an encore? Not sure if the hockey arena will cut it!

About Sarah

Sarah is constantly ReDesigning things. From ReDesigning spaces for others or ReDesigning herself from corporate operations whiz into interior decorator and blogger – it’s all about ReDesign.

Posted on February 1, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

