A New England Barn Reinvented

I am a sucker for properties that have been reinvented and combine old with new. I love the idea of respecting history while looking to the future.

The rebuild of this New England barn fits the bill for me. Funny thing is I normally abhor the “barn shape” of houses. There was one house in our old neighbourhood that I ranted about its design almost every time I passed it. However, this barn was taken apart piece by piece and the traditional barn shape is no where to be found.

It was rebuilt leveraging the patina of the beams and rafters, the reclaimed flooring and the uneven plaster walls to create an open space that feels cosy and suits a modern family.

I love the open spaces and the steel beams. I love that the you can see the 300 year old beams of the old farmhouse in every space. This would make a good home for me.

What do you think?

all images via New England Home

About Sarah

Sarah is constantly ReDesigning things. From ReDesigning spaces for others or ReDesigning herself from corporate operations whiz into interior decorator and blogger – it’s all about ReDesign.

Posted on May 4, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Living in Kansas, you see a lot of houses shaped like barns. But this one is very sophisticated and is not just run down. I love it!

  2. Nichol Design

    The stone fireplace is amazing!!!!

  3. That is a gorgeous home! Wish I could move in!

Leave a Reply

