Reflections on Blog Podium

This past Saturday, I attended the 2nd Blog Podium event, “The Business of Blogging” on Saturday. Needless to say it was a fantastic event – well organized and a stunning location at the Arcadian Loft (although I had flashbacks of high school formals as I stepped off the elevator!).

via

via

I walked away from the January Blog Podium event hyper and excited and this time I would describe my mood as reflective. Not in a bad way but more that it’s given me pause to think about the why and how behind my blog. I like it when events make me think like this … the end results when I am sifting through ideas and giving pause are generally very positive.

via

Nicole Balch from Making It Lovely was the keynote speaker and walked us through how she got to a place where her blog is now her business. I learned about different types of ads, when to start advertising, how to determine your rates and all about ad networks and sponsored posts. I took copious notes and really enjoyed her humour throughout. It was very interesting to hear from a US based blogger. Check out this great recap from The A & B Stories for the details of everything Nicole covered.

via

The panel discussion included Lindsay from Little House Blog, Christine from Bijou and Boheme, Cheryl from Gluckstein Home and Laura from Tribal DDB provided a uniquely Canadian perspective from bloggers, a brand and a media agency. Lindsay and Christine were so honest and candid about what they have done I truly appreciated the insight into their experiences and what they have learned. One of the biggest takeaways I had from this group is that design blogs are a relatively new community in Canada and there is so much we can all learn from each other. Everyone is figuring things out as they go – bloggers and brands alike! Here is a fantastic recap from My Daily Randomness.

via

Afterwards there was a opportunity to mix with the brands attending the event and socialize with other bloggers. I had an amazing time catching up with friends old and new and meeting some fantastic brands in the design industry.

via

I’m a goal oriented type of person and always like to set objectives before I attend an event and then work through what my next steps will be afterwards. Given that my blog is a way for me to explore different design ideas I will definitely continue to do that with aspirational and dreamy imagery. I will also be incorporating more posts that might help you with projects around your own home.

I would like to see my readership increase as I believe more people would like to hear and see what I am sharing. If you haven’t already done so, take a moment to subscribe to my blog (just under the archives section on the right) and share it with others too.

How this ties in with working with brands I need to think it through more but one thing is for sure that anything I bring to you is something I deem to be a value add.

Many thanks to Jen and Lindsay for putting together such a fantastic event. Even though I’m still working through how I want to action everything I learned on Saturday I am definitely motivated to continue doing what I’m doing and do it better, too!

About Sarah

Sarah is constantly ReDesigning things. From ReDesigning spaces for others or ReDesigning herself from corporate operations whiz into interior decorator and blogger – it’s all about ReDesign.

Posted on May 29, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Great recap!!! Thank you so much for including my link 🙂

    I think your post is a great one, it gets me thinking about establishing REAL goals for myself. We all have to decide what we want out of these blogs of ours, and start making it happen!!

    Very excited to see where you take yours 🙂

  2. Great re-cap. I really like the goals you’ve set for your blog. Can’t wait to read more!

  3. Great recap! I really like your approach of setting goals before you go and working out your next steps – I’ll have to remember that for next time!

  4. Sarah, I’m so glad that the event was such a valuable resource for you.

    I think that all design profs at OCAD and Ryerson should make your blog mandatory reading for their students.
    Your voice, through your posts, is full of remarkable clarity, excellent resources and wonderful humour.

    I eagerly anticipate your new posts, and welcome your creative ideas.

    Accidents happen and can be overwhelming.
    However, even the most upsetting situation, like the exacto cuts in the hassock of your previous post, can be fixed, and enhanced, with a little creativity.

    Parents (and grandparents like me) with children of all ages will continue to welcome your ingenious suggestions and solutions.

    Keep up the great work!!

Leave a Reply

