Flushmount Lighting: Ban the Boob

Yup … that’s right. I said ‘boob’ in the title of a blog post. And, no … this has not turned into a smut blog (even though I am currently addicted to reading smut aka “Fifty Shades of Grey”!).

What I’m talking about is those flushmount boob-like fixtures that everyone either has or has had in their home. They are cheap and quite frankly … ugly. And I am just as guilty. You see, they are rounded kinda like a boob and some even have a nipple on them.

via

See what I mean? Boobies.

And, if you haven’t thought about this particular style of flushmount fixture before … sorry ’bout that!

So, why are they everywhere? Well, they are cheap. The lights above retail for $12.99 at Home Depot.

I love pendant or chandeliers but there are a lot of places in your home where they just don’t make sense height-wise as you would hit your head when walking under them! Enter flushmount fixtures. I am here to tell you that you can still find flushmount fixtures that are both stylish and economical. Let’s check some out shall we …

This one is a start: double ring with a brushed nickel finish

via

Moving away from the rounded shape … this flushmount in a weathered bronze plays off the square shape in a variety of applications

via

via

A drum shade is a great way to dress up a flushmount fixture.

via

via

Adding circular shapes is another alternative.

via

Or one of my current favourite shapes – hexagon.

via

And of course, some bling!

via

A semi flushmount fixture works well if you have a little extra wiggle room height-wise.

via

via

via

via

Hopefully today’s post has inspired you to go light fixture shopping!

What do you think? Am I the only one out there who can’t stand the boob light?

About Sarah

Sarah is constantly ReDesigning things. From ReDesigning spaces for others or ReDesigning herself from corporate operations whiz into interior decorator and blogger – it’s all about ReDesign.

Posted on June 4, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Karen Lennie

    I have lived with 3 boob lights in my front hall (builder’s special) for 5 years now. While I have wanted to change them from day one, I wasn’t really sure what to replace them with. Thank you for some great ideas and the inspiration to get it done!!

  2. My daughter always used to laugh at that light when we were shopping for lighting fixtures! I hate it, but thankfully more options have appeared on the market!

  3. Amna Tariq-Buchholz

    I’ll never be able to look at the boob, I mean, light fixture at our place in Toronto the same way again … thanks for another enlightening article!

  4. Lol! Sarah, you make me laugh and laugh!

    I love the square shaped lighting alternatives you highlight in this post.

    One of the reasons your blog is so fantastic, is that it saves your readers so much time running around or googling to find alternation options to the mammary symbols on all of our ceilings!
    Calling Dr Freud!

    Another informative, entertaining post!! Thank you. Yet again, you made my day!

  5. the brown one looks a bit like the stanley cup

  6. Nichol Design

    I’m guilty of having one of those in the downstairs hall. I think it’s time for me to go shopping and replace it!

  7. I hate the boob lighting! We just moved into our house 6 months ago and it’s full of unattractive light fixtures. It’s on the long to do list!

  8. This is an awesome post Sarah – I have searched for non-boob flush-mount lights many, many times, and I swear you have the best of them here (and some I have never seen but want like that Restoration Hardware one!!)

  9. oh so sad to say but I have several boob lights that I have been meaning to change but just haven’t gotten around to. You have inspired me though to get rid of them and I do like several that you have shown. Thanks for the inspiration!

  10. I love the first drum shade, so classic and pretty! And I agree, ban the boob!

Leave a Reply

