Kids Play: A New Piece of Art

I am on a mission to lighten up our front room in our house. I love the wall colour (Benjamin Moore Davenport Tan), I love our couch but I wanted to inject some new colour in the space. It just felt too dark. More on what else I am going to do to change things up later but today I wanted to share with you a project I did with my boys … perhaps budding Picasso’s?

We took a giant canvas I had bought ages ago at HomeSense and made it uniquely ours!

First I painted over the bright colours.

Here they are all ready to paint!

Then I pulled out extra paint that I had lying around … and let the boys at it.

We dried it on the grass in the bright, hot sun …

And hung it up!

I love the lighter canvas and the fact that it is uniquely ours. We even signed the back! So simple and such a fun project for us to do.

What have you created with your kids lately?

About Sarah

Sarah is constantly ReDesigning things. From ReDesigning spaces for others or ReDesigning herself from corporate operations whiz into interior decorator and blogger – it’s all about ReDesign.

Posted on July 3, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. What a fun idea! Your kids must feel so proud to have their masterpiece hanging in your home!

  2. I love it Sarah! Definitely stealing that idea for a cottage project. Thanks for sharing. PS. You may have a few budding Pollock’s on your hands…just in talent, not temperment 🙂

  3. Love this! so if I didn’t have a home sense canvas lying around, how would you recommend I go about it?

  4. Love this, it looks fantastic and the kiddies seems to of had fun doing it!

Leave a Reply

