Summer Holidays

I know summer holidays are the best thing ever … or so I keep hearing from everyone. Truth be told, I’ve been a little anxious about the idea of the kids being out of school for summer. You see, I like routine, I like having a few hours kid-free during the day and I generally like the structure that the school year provides. When school is out I stress about how I am going to get things done for work and how to keep the kids occupied.

Instead of being anxious or complaining I decided to plan the summer to try to keep me sane! The kids are in a few camps, I’ve slowed my work schedule down (an advantage to being self-employed) and I’ve got a list of activities for us to do. I’m finding the household routine I crave by setting structure for the kids. They still have to make their beds and get dressed right after breakfast and each day they are keeping a daily journal. Getting the kids into the new routine seems to be working.

With that being said there is something magical about summer holidays. It’s a time to hang out and be silly, it’s a time to try new things and it’s a time to visit with friends. My kids are at a great age for doing things together in the summer – they still want to do things with me and they aren’t off at camp or working all summer yet.

Ever had a photoshoot doing shadow dancing? I have. You should try it sometime …

I had a reminder this morning of just how special this time is as I hairsprayed three mohawks for crazy hair day at the camp they are all attending this week. We were all giggling and laughing and taking turns spiking each other’s hair up.

We took a family holiday last week and spent time with friends and family up at cottages and shared special time in Ottawa just the five of us. As my Papa always like to say “These are the good times!”. Here are some pictures from our holiday.

What do you have planned for the summer?

About Sarah

Sarah is constantly ReDesigning things. From ReDesigning spaces for others or ReDesigning herself from corporate operations whiz into interior decorator and blogger – it’s all about ReDesign.

Posted on July 10, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Awesome photos, Sarah!
    Your Poppa was such a wise man. These are your good times.
    Enjoy every minute!

  2. Lovely! Enjoy this time with your family. I would DIE to be able to have a slower pace in the summer….alas, both hubby and I are busily working away with only a week off in the summer, which just ended. SNIFF! Enjoy. Make the most of it! I hope you and your family has a great summer! My goal is to make the most out of my weekends! Your photos from your family vacation are great! Michelle

  3. Sounds like a great summer. Your time away looked amazing. I wish I was on the water right now! Enjoy the rest of your summer πŸ™‚

  4. Hey Sarah! We just got back from Great Wolf Lodge about an hour ago and it was so much fun! Kids loved it, I highly recommend to anyone with kids- it does not disappoint! Enjoy your summer!! xo

  5. I like schedule too. It keeps me sane and I’m not even dealing with 3 busy boys!

Leave a Reply

