My Shed: Even Pigs Need Lipstick

I can distinctly recall the conversation my husband and I had when we moved into our current house. The only thing on his “must have” list was a garage. Well … I think he caved when pressured by his then pregnant wife and didn’t hold his ground. Because not only did we not end up with a garage. We ended up with a “shed”. Small, sort of run down and in need of some TLC.

We have since decided to expand our shed – next year. In the meantime we had a party at our house last weekend and I knew that I couldn’t have sixty people standing on my deck with the f-ugly shed glaring down at us.

Here’s what we started with:

Last summer we fixed up the door (so that it actually opened), reshingled the roof (which massively cleaned it up!) and replaced the fascia board.

Then winter hit and painting our little shed didn’t happen.

Until I had a deadline … yep. We had a backyard party and I got busy with the paintbrush and applied some grey and raspberry lipstick to the pig (I mean, shed).

Pretty good huh? Unfortunately I ran out of time pre-party and didn’t get to painting the fascia board or the trim around the door and window (it was meant to be painted black). Fortunately no one noticed and someone even commented on how pretty the shed is! I’d declare that a success.

I got slightly busted by the group that was hanging out on the grass … oops … missed a side!

Let’s just take a look at where we started and where we are today shall we?

Definitely an improvement I’d say! Amazing what a coat of paint can do!

Do you have any projects that just need a quick coat of lipstick to class them up?!

About Sarah

Sarah is constantly ReDesigning things. From ReDesigning spaces for others or ReDesigning herself from corporate operations whiz into interior decorator and blogger – it’s all about ReDesign.

Posted on September 20, 2012, in Blog Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Amazing what paint can do! This summer I had a naturally faided deck I stained an orange color. What a difference some color can do! The deck now looks almost new!

  2. Ahhhhh! So much better! Nice choice on the exposed black hinges for the door.

    Oh, and amazing how the thought of 60 people in your backyard can provide some REALLY good motivation for getting backburner projects done! πŸ™‚

  3. Fantastic result with your shed!
    I particularly love the raspberry colour on the door.

    What a riot that you forgot to paint one of the sides of the shed!! Lol!

    I just did a front porch ” facelift” anchored by painting, which was transformational.

    I used a lovely taupe paint on the porch floor and trim, companioned with black posts, black door and black mailbox. The roof of the porch was painted Cloud White by Benjamin Moore, an excellent choice to lift the darkness of the black.

    Once the paint cures a bit more, I plan to put a black runner out from the front door, as paint gets very slippery in the winter.

    I took your hint from a few blogs ago and added a pair of ferns hanging on each side of the porch.

    The result is very elegant, if I do say so myself!! my friends and neighbors are most impressed!

    Thanks again, Sarah, for all the great ideas! You’re awesome!

  4. Amazing. Looks beautiful. Loved the title of this post πŸ™‚ Made me smile πŸ™‚

  5. It looks so great…and totally agree, sometimes it really takes very little to make something look ALOT better.

Leave a Reply

